What Happens To Your Stuff When You Die?

The late, great George Carlin said you can’t have enough stuff.  I disagree. You can indeed have too much stuff, and have you thought about what happens to all this stuff when you die? 

The reality of my “stuff” was forced into my thoughts a few months ago when “Inge”, an elderly neighbor  in my apartment complex, passed away.   Returning home from work late one afternoon, I parked and walked over to the dumpster with trash from my car.   The dumpster was filled to the brim with someone’s personal belongings, summarily tossed and thrown willy-nilly into it.  There were framed family photos, letters, postcards, books, souvenirs, flower pots with the flowers still in them, china, glasses, clothing and a small rolling tea cart.   I realized these items all belonged to Inge!  It upset me to see this woman’s personal effects in the dumpster and made me think “what if all my photos, letters, etc. were to be thrown out like that?” 

Fear of having too much stuff coupled with the additional impetus of an impending out-of-state move forced me into action.  Downsizing is not an easy thing to do, especially when you’ve been on the planet for 50-plus years.  So, I began to get rid of my stuff via weekend yard sales, the usual Internet selling sites and charity donations.  But you know what?  I was unsuccessful.  I still have too much stuff!!!   

And don’t give me that crap about one man’s trash being another man’s treasure.  It’s the same stuff just moved to a different location and still clogging up the planet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvgN5gCuLac

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “What Happens To Your Stuff When You Die?”

  1. Kim Says:

    I howled on a 5 hr flight from LA to NY years ago with George Carlin doing his “stuff” monologue. OGM… you start to realize, perhaps I don’t need as much stuff after all.

    After moving 23 times and with no kids to leave any thing special to, the expression “less is more” takes on new meaning.

    Ah, perhaps you can give an online class in managing your stuff *L*

    Years ago, a 15 year old girl asked me: if there was a fire / you could only take one thing with you out of the house, what would it be?

    It was a good question. What was I passionate about: my flute. It also cost my then my first car (which was also filled with my stuff!)

    Besides your cats, what one item would you really wish to rescue?

  2. Michael Guccione Says:

    Don’t know why but as a kid, I was much more interested in playing Baseball than watching it. As a cub scout we went to see the White Sox play at Comiskey Park, I was bored out of my mind, couldn’t wait to get home and could only watch 2-3 innings on TV before switching to a cartoon or movie. I do remember the Jack Brickhouse post game interviews and the sound of people (probably kids) stomping on paper cups to make that ‘Pop’ sound.

    • lady3jane53 Says:

      Mike, there is nothing wrong with wanting to play baseball than watching it. Today kids are hung up on their video games and cell phones and not the “real” thing.

Leave a Reply

